top of page

The best things in life with three, for free


It's been a while since I have written a blog post and I was thinking about deleting this entire page but then I remembered why I started this blog. Not only was it for moms who are struggling with mulitiple kids, but also for something I could look back on.


Do people still read blogs? The last time I blogged was a year ago, I basically spent the last hour trying to log into my blog.


Let's talk Lockdown babies. When hard lockdown hit, the twins were just 2 years old so for the past 2.5 years my boys have only known their immediate family and their caregivers. This is definately one of the main reasons I know my boys love nature and outdoors.


Outdoor play teaches kids how to be active, my boys thrive on a good outdoor adventure. Outdoor play provides them new ways to be active because there is enough of space and a natural setting to run and explore.


Today I would love to share with you some lovely outdoor spaces that we enjoy and that are 100% free!


  1. GreenPoint Park, 1 Fritz Sonnenberg Rd, Green Point, Cape Town, 8051

● Open Monday to Sunday (7:00 - 19:00)

● Free for all to enter

● Dogs on leashes allowed


Kids can run free, pack a picnic and enjoy it on the luscious grass. There's a gym park, play parks and a labyrinth.




2. Muizenberg beach

There is a little secluded and safe area along Surfers Corner beach, my boys love the soft sand. Any beach is a winner for us on hot summers day or warm winters day. It's close to all the eateries as well as the putt putt and supertubes.





3. Rondevlei Nature Reserve


The area was well maintained and had numerous spots (hides and towers) to look out over the water and see the birdlife. At one stage there were hippos but these were removed a few years ago. There is no entrance fee, which was a nice bonus.


Open daily between 07:30 – 17:00 Weekends (December to February only 07:30 – 19:00

  • Museum

  • Information centre

  • Events facilities

  • Path and walkways

  • Facility hire

  • Picnic areas



4. Tokai Forest


Tokai Forest is a stunning area to walk, ride bikes, horse rides and enjoy the fresh air and nature . A new addition not to be missed is The Secret Forest Cafe. Fresh baked croissants, fantastic coffee and breakfasts all served in the beautiful Forest. There is plenty of shade the walk is fairly flat and can be enjoyed by the whole family.






These are our 4 favourite little gems in Cape Town. I'll be sharing some more free places soon.


xxxZ






Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page