top of page

GLAD GIVEAWAY

5 WAYS TO USE LEFTOVERS

How many times have you opened the fridge only to discover, waaaaaaaaaaaay back there is something stashed there for weeks, overlooked and forgotten?

For many reasons like the environment, social, financial, etc. it does make sense for us to get smarter about fully using the food that we purchase and that are left over.

Here are some tips:

1. Create leftovers purposefully.

When I plan my meals I think about what I can do with the extras. I know the exact portion each one in my family eats, so this makes it somewhat easy to judge. It really is a good time saver, for example if I prepare twice as much veggies tonight, I know there will be some left over as starting point for another dish later in the week.

2. Store leftovers smartly.

I love using Glad zip sandwich bags for storing left overs. I use it for freezing leftovers too as I can label and date the contents on it.Cling wrap is the most used product in my home. Not only is a space saver, it allows me to see what’s inside.

3. Dedicate a leftovers night.

If I see my fridge is filled with leftovers, we have a left overs night. This is usually on a Thursday evening.

4. Turn dinner into lunch.

Another money- and time-saver for busy people. When it wasn't lockdown I would pack the leftovers in for office lunch.

With a bit of planning and no extra effort, you can create a week’s worth of healthful take-it-to-work lunches.

5. Think “ingredients,” not “leftovers.”

Turn extra pasta or cooked vegetables into a frittata. Blend cooked vegetables with a can of whole tomatoes and create a veggie-packed sauce for pasta. Create burritos with leftover cooked rice, meat and vegetables, and top them with sour cream and salsa.

Giveaway

Here's a chance to win a Glad hamper to the value of R300.

Entering is easy:

1: Comment on this blog post with your favourite leftover hack.

2. Winner announced on 14 August 2020.

Good luck beautiful people.

xxxZ

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page