top of page

Wearing your baby with NoonooPie


While baby wearing may sound like the latest trend, it’s actually an age-old tradition practiced by mothers around the world. Many cultures around the world have been using this method of baby transport continuously for centuries.

The Indians, Egyptians, Chinese and closer to home, African women have been wearing babies for centuries.

So forget about fancy and bulky strollers and travel systems, wearing my precious cargo has just become effortless with the Noonoo Pie wrap carrier.

What is baby wearing?

The term baby wearing has been used to describe the custom of carrying infants in fabric carriers against a parent’s body.

The Noonoo Pie

The Rahim twins have received the Noonoo Pie wrap carrier and I was really excited to start wearing my twins. I have never “worn” any of my other babies, this was the first, so I was really looking forward to the challenge of wearing two babies.

My first attempt at wrapping literally took about 1.5 minutes. It was so easy to wrap my twins by following the instructions from the booklet which comes with the wrap. I tried the front carry, as this seemed to be the most comfortable for new born babies. When I was done, I just popped each baby in a pocket.

As easy as pie ;)

I love the fact that the fabric is the perfect blend of 95% cotton, making it safe for sensitive baby skin. The stretch in the fabric prevents me from constantly readjusting the wrap.

There are no buckles, belts or clips, so wearing this wrap is extremely comfortable. The weight of the twins is spread evenly over my back and shoulders and can hold up to 10kgs.

When I am not wearing both babies, I still use the wrap to wear one baby while I feed or change the other baby.

The Noonoo Pie wrap carrier is available online on the Noonoo Pie website shop and Takealot for R449.

Useful tips when wrapping twins.

If you are struggling to get the hang of wrapping, learning to wrap a single baby can help you get a better handle on mastering the wrap.

Be sure to spread the neck part over your shoulders for maximum comfort. This will keep the wrap from digging into you and distribute the weight evenly, making the weight lighter.

Safety tips.

Always keep wrap snug.

Your baby should be in your view at all times.

The baby’s head should be close enough for you to kiss.

Keep the baby’s chin off of their chest to maintain a clear airway.

Support your baby’s back and keep their tummy and chest against yours.

Do not wear baby while cooking or working with sharp or hot objects.

Benefits of baby wearing.

Babies who are carried often cry less.

Baby wearing is good for babies physically.

Baby wearing encourages healthy mental and emotional development.

Baby wearing promotes attachment.

When my twins are older and have more control over their heads, I will attempt the hip carry. Watch my Instagram page for that post.

I love my Noonoo Pie.

xxxZ

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page